172 Hours on the Moon Book Review (Spoiler Free)

172 hours

“In space, no one can hear you scream.”

Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Supernatural, Horror

Author: Johan Harsbad

Published April 5th 2012 by Atom

Pages: 368

Rating: 4/5

Originally written and published in Norway, 172 Hours on the Moon is a Scandanavian thriller which is downright terrifying. Despite the extremely slow start to the novel, it quickly picks up pace by the second half of the book to the point where is it difficult to put down. The timing of when I read this book is something I have to point out since its quite hilarious . . . and embarrassing for me lol I actually started to read this before my first solo trip to Italy and the events in the book completely paralleled closely with what happened in my life which made it even more creepy. Because here, we have characters who are leaving their homes to a place where they are all alone and have no one else close to them which did resemble my situation so I ended up putting this book aside to give my heart a break. Not to mention I was reading this at night because I’m a crazy like that 🙂

tangled.gif

Summary:

172 Hours on the Moon is a science fiction thriller where three teenagers win a week long trip to the moon with NASA. This is the organization’s attempt to increase the public’s interest in space travel and also create some sponsors for the program. In terms of my criticism, I found the whole premise of the story line to be a bit far-fetched since the idea of placing kids in outer space seemed unbelievable. Even astronauts require years of training before they can fly to outer space but the kids had to undergo a couple of months. I find that a bit strange. And why did it have to be teenagers? I think it would have done well even if the characters were adults. I assume the age range for the three main characters was probably small since this was targeted to be a young adult book. I also did not find myself having any interest for any of the main characters since I did not find them to be relatable at all. There was also a small romance aspect within the book which I thought was completely unnecessary since it did not progress so there was no need.

Despite these flaws. the only reason as to why I kept reading was because I knew from other book reviewers that the plot does not become interesting until they land on the moon. With that being said, if I did not know anything with regards to the book when I picked it up, I probably would not have finished reading it. But once they do land on the moon, things start to escalate pretty fast and so much to the point where I thought I was reading a completely different book!

lion.gif

Coming to the actual core plot of the novel – this was absolutely fantastic. I am not sure why the author prolonged everything just to come to the moon since I found the prologue to be quite dull. I have noticed that the author had done a bit of research for this novel and it was even more evident through his interview in the last few pages of the book. For example, I loved how he incorporated a bit of the Japanese folklore into the story since it ties in very well within book, especially towards the end. Oh my gawd . . . THAT ENDING THOUGH!!! Still get chills thinking about it!

raven.gif

All in all, I think the entire thriller/suspense aspect of the story made up for the lackluster character development. I did manage to finish this book after my trip from Italy of course. Overall, in terms of ratings, I gave this book 4/5 stars!

Have any of you read 172 Hours on the Moon? What were your thoughts on it? Let me know below!

Until next time, keep reading and I will see you all soon!

 

sign.png

One thought on “172 Hours on the Moon Book Review (Spoiler Free)

  1. This sounds like a really surprising book, not my kind of thing but I love those books that really keep you reading, they’re sometimes the best!! Haha, I have to do that with books sometimes, put them down before you burst a blood vessel or something 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

