The Bone Witch Book Review (Spoiler Free)

the bone witch.jpg

“There is no greater strength than the ability to understand and accept your own flaws.”

Author: Rin Chupeco

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Release Date: March 7, 2017

Rating: 3/5

GoodReads

Thank you to Sourcebooks Fire publishing to providing me this arc for review on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Summary:

The Bone Witch starts off with a girl named Tea who accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead and upon doing so, she learns that she has a special talent for necromancy. This type of gift is super rare in society but Tea is taken in by her mentor, Lady Mykaela, to train as an Asha  for a few years. Here, she learns of dark forces which are lurking nearby and how she is might hold the key to resolving the danger around them.

My thoughts:

When I first saw this book on the upcoming releases on goodreads, I was automatically intrigued by the description due the inclusion of necromancy. How awesome is that? It was so interesting and in a completely different genre that I normally read so I was so excited when I was offered a copy on Netgalley! First of all, can we talk about how gorgeous this cover is? I love the colors: royal purple with a hint of gold intricate patterns which almost gives it a divine look. The skull in the center no doubt adds a bit of a chilling and creepy aura to the book which fits perfectly with this paranormal genre.

To start off with the positive aspects of this book, I will say that the writing is beautiful and the world building/ setting is brilliantly done. For example, I did like the incorporation of heartglasses through which you could read a person’s emotions based on the color.I also did enjoy the spark of diversity which the author added through the incorporation of an Asian inspired setting.

However, I did feel that the descriptions of the world overshadowed the plot to the point where it felt like very little happened in the novel. This was what I was disappointed about because there was so much potential for a great storyline and character arc but in the end, this book ended up falling short of my expectations. I do feel there is room for expansion and further development of the plot so perhaps we might see something better in the second book?

In terms of the main character, I felt that Tea was intriguing at the start due to her unique talents and strengths at necromancy but as we moved through the story I saw that there was not much character development and for this reason, she ended up becoming quite bland. I would have liked to see her face more challenges and obstacles in her path where she had to make tough decisions (good or bad) and learn from them but we did not get to see much of this in the book.

Overall, I thought that this was a great book in terms of world building and writing but it did not perform well in terms of plot. If any of you decide to read this book, please let me know your thoughts below!

~Ash~

Leave a Reply

