Percy Jackson and the Olympians – The Lightning Thief Book Review (Spoiler Free)

percy

“Even strength must bow to wisdom sometimes.”

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: March 1st 2006 by Disney Hyperion Books

Pages: 377

Rating: 5/5

GoodReads

I think it is safe to say that you should never judge a book by its movie. Although I love Logan Lerman . . . I mean look at that face:

percy.gif

I have to say that the movie did not do this book justice. There was just so much missing from the story line as well as the actual characters themselves. Coming back to the actual book, I will say that I enjoyed reading this and I will most definitely be continuing on with the series. Thank you to Annabeth @ annabethchasesite for recommending this to me 🙂

Summary:

Percy Jackson is a twelve-year-old kid who is struggling to focus in boarding school with his ADHD and Dyslexia. Things seem to get more complicated when he realizes he is a demigod and that the Gods of Mount Olympus and mythological creatures may no longer be only words in his textbook and that they are very much REAL. To make things worse, he soon finds out that he may have angered one of them: Zeus. The God’s master lightening bolt had been stolen and Percy is the prime suspect. Together with his friends from his new home at Camp Half Blood, they have ten days to return Zeus’s stolen property to prevent a war between the Gods on Mount Olympus.

Characters:

Percy Jackson – OMG if I had read this series before being consumed by Harry Potter, I am pretty sure my 10 year old self would have developed a serious crush on this kid! Percy is just so snarky, I love it! I was laughing out loud nearly every moment he couldn’t keep his mouth shut and just had to say something sassy. Brilliant!

“You want to gargle with toilet water again, Clarisse? Close your mouth.”

OHH SNAP!!!

vanessa

Annabeth – I think she maybe one of my favorite female characters of all time. She did remind me a bit of Hermione but I feel that Annabeth has a good balance between actual physical strength and wisdom. She is the daughter of Athena after all 🙂

Grover – In comparison to the film portrayal, I appreciated that we got to see more of Grover’s character and his back story. I also loved the focus Rick Riordan placed on the friendship between him and Percy.

My thoughts: 

I was honestly very surprised by this book! I was debating about starting this since it was a middle grade fiction but it turned out to be quite refreshing to read. I loved the incorporation of Greek mythology into the novel since it added such a unique premise to the book. I was surprised about the amount of knowledge you gain regarding the Greek Gods while reading as well.

The pacing of the book was very well done. It also had the perfect dose of action and suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat. Since this was a middle grade novel, the writing was not too intricate but it was well balanced in terms of description so you could picture the world around you and understand the plot. For this reason, I would recommend this book to both adults and young readers!

Memorable Quotes:

Gabe: . . “Maybe if the kid apologizes for interrupting my poker game.”

Percy: Maybe if I kick you in your soft spot . . and make you sing soprano for a week.

– – –

“I’d made water shoot out of the bathroom fixtures. I didn’t understand how. But the toilets had responded to me. I had become one with the plumbing.”

OMG PERCY! I CAN’T WITH THIS KID! 

thumper

Have any of you read the Percy Jackson series?

Come fan girl with me!

~Ash~

3 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Olympians – The Lightning Thief Book Review (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

