A Torch Against the Night Book Review (Spoiler Free)

ATorchAgainstTheNight

“Failure doesn’t define you. It’s what you do after you fail that determines whether you are a leader or a waste of perfectly good air.” – 387

Author: Sabaa Tahir

Published: August 30th 2016 by Razorbill

Pages: 452

GoodReads

Rating: 5/5

Usually when I go into sequels, I prepare myself for the second book slump, BUT THIS BOOK OMG! I absolutely devoured it in one setting. Just as the first book, it was addicting straight from the start and I could not put it down. It was hands down, one of the best sequels I have ever read! If you liked the first book, you will definitely love the second. Bravo Sabaa Tahir! 🙂

PLOT

A Torch Against the Night is a sequel to one of the best books of 2015, An Ember in the Ashes which was in my opinion, an explosive debut in the YA genre. This book picks up exactly where we left our characters – Laia and Elias – and both are on the run from the Marital Empire in order to free Laia’s brother, Darin, from the Prison cells of Kauf. Along the way, we are reunited with old characters and introduced to new ones as well.We also see Helene, one of the most painful and heartbreaking perspectives to read. As the Blood Shiike, she is faced with the gruesome task: capture her best friend, Elias, and kill him. The World continues to grow brutal and merciless with the dark forces involving the Commandant, the power hungry Emperor Marcus and the sadistic Warden of Kauf. All in all, Sabaa Tahir delivered a faced paced and heart pounding sequel which would have readers yearning for the third book.

CHARACTERS

  1. Laia – Laia is one the characters who undergoes tremendous character development. To see her transform from the first book to how she is by the end of the second was an absolute delight. She isn’t perfect. She does make mistakes which she is not afraid to admit and I do admire that quality about her. From a resolute survivor she becomes a bold and goal oriented fighter.
  2. Elias – Elias is just . . . /fans self. I think I might love him even more than I did the first book. I have to add him to my book boyfriend list lol He is just beyond amazing. He goes through serious turmoil and anguish in this book and my heart just couldn’t take it at certain times. Despite all that, he is still strong, compassionate and courageous and that is something worth praising 🙂 Moreover, I also enjoyed reading those sly and sarcastic comments he had in his head every now and then. lol it did bring a bit of comic relief hahafang
  3. Helene – One of the best additions to the book was Helene’s perspective. I have to admit, I did not quite love her character in the first book, but I did enjoy reading about her in this one. Since she goes through so many heartbreaking and internal struggles,  I couldn’t help but feel for her but her character development was spectacular! She was the perfect blend of strength and vulnerability – something that made her seem more human.

Besides the character development, writing and world building, the actual plot within this book delivered twist after twist to the point where it was just mind blowing. Nearly every chapter ends with a cliffhanger and it was nearly impossible to put the book down. Her writing style works so well with the fast paced plot since it never once slows down or gets tiresome to read. Moreover, the amount of subtext, inspiring quotes, and dialogue between the characters are the devices which actually shed a light and a glint of hope in this brutal world and maybe even in every day life. That is what defines a 5 star book for me: when a book, regardless of genre, becomes relevant to your own life.

approval-reaction-gif

Now onto my my emotions which were pretty much all over the place with this book! Irritation, anger (maybe even rage at a few characters lol), fangirling over Elias lol, fear, heartache, depression. God, the list can go on haha

em

Overall, I was satisfied with the ending of this book but I definitely want to know more about the upcoming plot lines. With that being said, I will definitely keep a look out for the third book. It has already become one of my most anticipated reads!

Have any of you read the Torch Against the Night yet? Let me know your thoughts below!

 

2 thoughts on “A Torch Against the Night Book Review (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

