Top 5 Books of 2016 so far

Hello everyone! Hope your week is going well! We are more than half way through the year already! Can you believe that? My July reading was not so great but I am hoping to catch up this month haha  So far, I seem to be on schedule with my Good reads goal – completed 27 out of 40 books. So without further ado, lets get to the list:

5. Orange: The Complete Collection by Ichigo Takano

orange-manga

 

– The most cutest and heart wrenching thing I have ever read; I was recommended this manga through a few reviews and I absolutely loved it. It does have that comedic humor we see in these types of literature but there was a deeper message behind it and it was so refreshing to read. I will have a review on this soon! 🙂

4. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Braken

thedarkestminds

 – This was just an amazing start to a fabulous series. I absolutely loved everything from the plot line, the setting, and the characters! If you are looking for a great dystopian read, I definitely think you should give this one a try. If you would like a more in depth, spoiler free review, check it out HERE

3. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six-of-Crows-Cover

 – One word to describe this would be BRILLIANT. This was just beautifully written and even though the characters are flawed, the writer does a fabulous job of making you feel for them. The premise of this book was so intriguing it automatically captured my attention: Outlaws trying to pull of an impossible heist. Who wouldn’t want to read that? Check out my review HERE 🙂

2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

an-ember-in-the-ashes-by-sabaa-tahir

 

 – This book kept me up until 4AM. Yes, 4AM. I read this in one sitting. That was how dangerously addictive this book was. As soon as I started reading, the story just takes off and there is never one dull moment. There is just so much action mixed with a thrilling and captivating story, it’s just too much of an awesome read! You can read a more in-depth review on my blog HERE

1. The Lunar Chronicles By Marissa Meyer

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer

– It’s official. This has become one of my favorite series of all time (after Harry Potter of course). I just loved how Marissa Meyer crafted this story as a fairy tale re-telling but with a scifi twist. How cool is that? All the characters in the stories were amazing in their unique way. Brave Cinder, Fiery Scarlet, Sweet Cress, and Crazy Winter lol I adore each and everyone of them. Plus, Cress and Thorne are relationship goals! 🙂 Definitely check out my blog for their individual reviews!

How about you guys? Do you have a top 5 of the year so far? Let me know in the comments below?

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Books of 2016 so far

  1. I have been very picky this year so far, and I only have two 5 star reads that are on my top 5.

    1. Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes
    2. Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon.
    3, 4, and 5…still waiting to decide. =)

    I am sure once the sequel to Six of Crows comes out and a couple of releases in November will change my top 5 =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choice! I’ve only read 3 from Your list but I have heard a lot about the others! I am a bit hesitant to read Six of Crows because I was so in love with Shadow and Bone series, so I am scared I will be comparing those two since the set-up world is the same! So, will see how that goes😂
    When it comes to my top 5 of 2016, I can only name two. ACOMAF by Sarah J.Maas and Black Matter by Blake Crouch. I am sure, with so many new releases coming up, I will have a few more books added!

    Like

  3. Six of Crows was my favourite of last year. I can’t wait for Crooked Kingdom. I also love The Darkest Minds and The Lunar Chronicles. ❤

    I don't think I'm quite ready to pick a top 5 for this year so far yet. It's going to be hard, haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

