The Maze Runner Book Review (Spoiler Free)

tmr

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

Book Details:  

Published October 6, 2009 by Delacorte Press

384 Pages

GoodReads

My Rating: 5/5

Hello fellow book lovers! This is my first official review for my new book blog. You may know me from my writing blog, Memoirs-of-a-Glader. I decided to start a side book blog for my love of reading and to recommend you all some great sci-fi/fantasy/dystopian books!

I have been yearning to read this book ever since I watched the movie and I have to say I am so glad I did. Despite the slow start, you can’t help but zip through the pages as the plot thickens. This was one of the reasons I enjoyed this book since it had me hooked. As with most book to movie adaptations, there were a few changes but I believe this was done in order to make it more cinematically pleasing.  Nevertheless, I enjoyed both the book and the movie and I couldn’t wait to start the sequel.

Plot:

Even though this is book is a Young Adult dystopian/science fiction novel, it stands apart from the other books in this genre through its storyline, concept and mystery. In summary, this book follows Thomas and a group of teens who wake up in a deadly maze and together, they search desperately for an escape route but also try to understand the reason behind their imprisonment. Thomas is clearly different from the other boys since he tends to be quite reckless but also curious and this served as the driver for the group to find a way out. The world of the MAZE Runner is also quite interesting since it is described with the right amount of clarity and detail but also the right amount of mystery as well. I understand that some readers did have an issue with the writing but it didn’t bother me at all. The way the plot moves forces the reader to keep guessing what could happen next and this is done extremely well through Dashner’s writing style. In all honesty, there were parts in the book where I was just like …

Originally posted by yourreactiongifs

And other times like

Originally posted by lamacova

Main Characters:

1.       Thomas – Reckless, curious, a little awkward; The moment Thomas arrives in the Glade and questions everything around him, we begin to understand that what was considered “home” may not really be home after all. I thought Thomas was a great protagonist. He wasn’t a perfect person either which made him more likable.

2.       Newt – Second In Command, Voice of Reason, Smart, Friendly, Loyal; Newt strongly believed in the rules set forward within the glade at the beginning of the novel but soon learns to trust Thomas in terms of his views and decisions. He is in a tough position since he is a leadership role but he still makes a great effort to solve problems in the glade and shows a great amount of care and responsibility for the Gladers.

3.       Minho – Sarcastic, Strong, Fighter, Loyal; Minho is BAE. I mean this guy just made me laugh throughout the book. Despite his sarcastic humor, we also see Minho to be strong in terms of leadership especially during a particular Council meeting scene which had me screaming, “YAASSS MINHO!” He is also quite loyal to Thomas despite his doubts of staying in the glade.

4.       Teresa – Teresa is the only girl to arrive in the maze and she is also the last person. She doesn’t play a huge role in this book but she does assist the gladers in finding their way out of the maze.

5.       Gally – Gally is the antagonist of the novel and therefore, Thomas’s rival. He had a strong disdain for Thomas as soon as he entered the glade and we do discover the reasons behind  that hate which adds to the mystery aspect of the novel.

Unlike other dystopian books I have read, this novel places a great emphasis on themes such as friendship and unity – a concept which was displayed quite beautifully in the cinemas as well. The ending was a bit more dramatic in the book and I did shed a few tears. I don’t why – THE FEELS – urgh everything just got me and I just couldn’t. But real talk, the Maze Runner is a very special book to me since I read it during the worst times of my life but its themes and sense of hope/optimism did alleviate the stresses I was going through.

No matter how hard everything may be, you can always find a way out of it 🙂

If you haven’t done so already, I strongly urge you to pick it up, especially if you like dystopian/science fiction books.

Happy Reading!

9 thoughts on “The Maze Runner Book Review (Spoiler Free)

    • Hehe same here, I enjoy their interactions lol that’s the best part. I love Minho’s sarcasm 😍 I actually haven’t read the Death Cure, I’m too scared to cuz I heard it’s sad lol but I might pick it up soon cuz everyone is telling me to read it. I haven’t read Kill Order but I am soooo excited for the Fever Code this September OMG!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

